Portland Swag for a Science Nerd

While in Portland last week, I picked up alot of science books, from 1) library book sales, 2) Powell’s, and 3) the vendor exhibits at the meeting of the Public Library Association at the Convention Center (my wife attended the conference, and got me a pass to the exhibits). Here’s what I got:

The Encyclopedia of Evolution: Humanity’s Search for Its Origins (at a library book sale)

Evolution: How We and All Living Things Came to Be (purchased at the exhibits)

Evolution Revolution (free at the exhibits!)

Remarkable Creatures (purchased at the exhibits)

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith (purchased at the exhibits)

Denialism: How Irrational Thinking Hinders Scientific Progress, Harms the Planet, and Threatens Our Lives (purchased at the exhibits)

The Age of Wonder: The Romantic Generation and the Discovery of the Beauty and Terror of Science (Vintage) (purchased at Powell’s)

Why Evolution Is True (purchased at the exhibits)

The Invention of Air: A Story Of Science, Faith, Revolution, And The Birth Of America (purchased at the exhibits)

The Genius of Charles Darwin (Dawkins on Darwin DVD set, free at the exhibits!)

The Six-Cornered Snowflake (free at the exhibits!)

And science plaque for my car (purchased at Powell’s)

For all the books purchased at the vendor exhibits, I spent no more than $28! It made for a fun morning.

5 thoughts on “Portland Swag for a Science Nerd

  1. And now to find the time to read it all! I have about 4-5 Darwin books I picked up during the Darwin year, that I still have to find the time to read. Enjoy!

  2. Impressive trawl Michael,

    You’re going to love Age of Wonder. And now I’m thinking I need a Science Fish – to aesthetically balance up the Darwin Fish on the car.

  3. I graduate in May, so looking forward to reading for pleasure and doing more reviews for this blog…

Leave a Reply

