Foundation Beyond Belief

Foundation Beyond Belief

As I am sure readers of my blog know (or maybe not!), I am not a religious person. Recently I picked up copies of Dale McGowan’s edited books, Parenting Beyond Belief and Raising Freethinkers. I’ve only had time to flip through them generally and read the introductions, but I know these two books will be valuable resources as I raise my son Patrick in a world that expects people to believe in some sort of divine being. Well, I don’t, and I have decided not to push such things on my child (I have recently learned of the phrase hereditary religion). Instead, I will instill in my son an appreciation for nature, science, reason, skepticism, rationalism and all those wonderful things, as well as an understanding that it is to humanity that one should look for answers to our and the world’s problems – not to some deity whose existence depends on faith and belief.

Dale has just announced the launch of Foundation Beyond Belief, “a non-profit charitable and educational foundation created (1) to focus, encourage and demonstrate the generosity and compassion of atheists and humanists, and (2) to provide a comprehensive education and support program for nontheistic parents.” Here is his introductory video:

I think it’s a good cause to support. Visit Foundation Beyond Belief.

Patrick in Yellowstone National Park

Patrick in Hyalite Canyon, south of Bozeman, MT

Patrick in Yellowstone National Park

Patrick in Yellowstone National Park

Leave a Reply

