London in October & “Creation” Reviews

I will be in London in October for a research trip, and thought it would be a good idea to give my agenda here in the event that anyone wants to meet up. I have met three fellow science bloggers thus far (Anne-Marie in Wilmington, NC, and Karen and Richard in Cambridge, England), and I think meeting more would do me good, because sometimes here in Montana I feel like I am in a world of my own (although, my university boasts another science, and yay, Darwin blogger – Michael Bertasso of Darwinaia – but I have yet to meet him). So, this is when I will be in London and what I will be doing:

Sunday, October 25: Arriving in London, will be tired I am sure, but up for something in the evening

Monday, October 26: archives at the Royal Institution from 10am-5pm, so free in the morning and evening

Tuesday, October 27: archives at the Royal Institution from 10am-5pm, so free in the morning and evening

Wednesday, October 28: archives at the Royal Institution from 10am-5pm, so free in the morning and evening

Thursday, October 29: archives at Kew Gardens from 9am-5pm, so free in the evening

Friday, October 30: spending the day at the Natural History Museum (I spent only an hour there in July) and the new Darwin Centre!

Saturday, October 31: spending the day going to and visiting Down House

I think it would be neat to see Creation in London. I am not sure yet if I will have seen it in the U.S. by then, for it still lacks a distributor here. The film opens the Toronto International Film Festival on September 10th, opens in the UK on September 25th, and has been reviewed so far by Wired and The Globe and Mail, and an “On the Set” piece from the LA Times.

What else should I do in London while I am there?

Leave a Reply

